Veteran Voices Project

The Veteran Voices Project is something that has been in my heart for many years now, but has finally come to fruition.  This project consists of interviewing veterans about their service and making a public space where these stories can be told.  So I have created a new blog called Veteran Voices. (www.vetvoices.wordpress.com)  I hope you will check it out and see how it’s taking shape! Below is a copy of my introductory post: Veterans' Voices-002I have a deep respect for veterans. I’m not sure if my sense of respect and patriotism is inborn or taught by my parents, but I get choked up whenever I see our country’s flag displayed on a home, or when the “Stars and Stripes Forever” is played, or while attending a Memorial Day celebration honoring our fallen veterans. But seeing someone in military dress is what affects me most. It’s not so much the uniform as it is the ideal for which the uniform stands, and the commitment the person has made to that ideal.

This project was birthed because I believe each veteran has a story to tell — whether that person served in frontline combat or in a stateside desk job. The contribution of every veteran in every position and rank made an impact to the cause and it is my desire to help tell their stories. I intend to publish interviews on this new site from veterans from all conflicts, but interviews with World War II veterans will take priority. Even the youngest veterans of this war are in their late eighties and early nineties and will not be with us for many more years.

Each of these interviews needs to be published so that others may glean information, but also solidify their patriotism for our country.  Those who read these stories will realize the cost of the freedoms we enjoy, as well as gain more respect for veterans and the sacrifices that have been made in service to our country.

If you know a WWII veteran who would like to be interviewed, please respond to this post. If the veteran lives in the Louisiana/Mississippi region I would like to interview them personally.  If the veteran lives elsewhere I can send a questionnaire that can be filled out by the veteran or a friend of the veteran. Copies of current photos and service photos of the veteran submitted with the completed interview are greatly appreciated. Transcripts of their interviews will be submitted to the National World War II Museum in New Orleans, LA to be archived for research by future historians.

Every veteran has a story, and every story should be told.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Awesome introduction for a wonderful project. You are some kind of special, sweetheart. 🙂

  2. Andrea Fairchild says:

    Hi. My name is andrea and there were several vets in our family. A few we are paticularly proud of. Please contact me at andreamfairchild@gmail.com

  3. gpcox says:

    Can we expect a new post soon, hope all is alright by you.

    1. Yes, yes! I have three in the wings — one almost ready — waiting on a photo or two. I’m also meeting a group of veterans in May so I hope to have several more lined up. Thanks for asking!

      1. gpcox says:

        Just glad all is well – looking forward to your news.

Leave a comment