A Picture is Worth More Than a Thousand Words

SONY DSCImages of our ancestors are the golden nuggets of family history.  Often we are not able to find an image of an ancestor, but when we do, even when the image is small and faded, it gives life to their name and dates.  When you look into the eyes of people who lived so long ago, who are your own flesh and blood, it is an ethereal experience that connects you to your past.

SONY DSCOne set of pictures I have in my collection of family images is in an old, red, velvet-covered album of the Broom(e) family.  Besides my loved ones, this album is one thing I would grab in case of a fire.  Most of the photos in this album are from 1880-1900, but some daguerreotypes are from before the Civil War. All except a few are labeled, which is invaluable!  Also in my family history collection I have the Broome Family Bible listing many of  their important dates and events.

John Thomas Broom
John Thomas Broom
Aletris Ellen Morgan Broome
Aletris Ellen Morgan Broom

The patriarch of this family is John Thomas Broom who was a farmer from Utica, Mississippi.  (The “e” was added to the family name around the turn of the century according to Bible records.)   The year before the Civil War began he married his young sweetheart Aletris Ellen Morgan on October 7, 1860.  He was 24 and she was 13.  They married in Richmond, Louisiana (near Tallulah, LA) which was burned completely by Gen. Ulysses S. Grant before the siege of Vicksburg, MS in 1863.

Born in 1836 John Thomas was the prime age of 26 for military service in the Civil War. John served for more than one year in the Confederate Army as part of the 36th Mississippi Infantry.  He enlisted in March 1862 for 12 months of service, but in April 1862 a Confederate conscription act, or draft order, went into effect that forced men ages 18-35 to serve for at least three years.  In September of 1862 the conscription age was increased to 45.  But a year and two months after his enlistment date, when the 36th Mississippi was ordered to leave Snyder’s Bluff north of Vicksburg and take up defenses in Vicksburg, John deserted and went home.  Maybe he sensed the inevitable defeat by the Union Army because of the advances they were making around Mississippi.  But there were other reasons why many Confederate soldiers deserted their army around this time in the war.

One was the enactment of  the conscription acts which they felt infringed on their rights by their government — which was why they were fighting this war against the Union in the first place.  In addition to this was the 20 slave exemption added to the conscription acts in October of 1862.  This exemption meant that those who owned 20 slaves could go home to help prevent possible slave uprisings.  The slave-owner could then hire someone to fight in his stead. Any man who could afford the $300 price could hire a substitute to fight for them. Therefore the war in the Confederacy by this time had become known as “a rich man’s war and a poor man’s fight.”

John Thomas and Aletris had their first child on August 30, 1861, a few months after the start of the war.  They named him Thomas Sanders Broom after Aletris’ father Thomas Sanders Morgan.  After John Thomas returned home from the war he and Aletris had 9 more children, six of whom lived to adulthood.

Thomas Sanders Broome
Thomas Sanders Broom
Thomas Sanders Broom, Ella Anderson Broom and their children
Thomas Sanders Broom and his wife Ella Anderson Broom with their children

When Thomas grew up, he converted from his family’s Protestant faith to Mormonism.  His father then disowned him.

Eva May Broom
Eva May Broom

John Thomas Broom returned home by August of 1863 and the following spring on May 30, 1864, Eva May Broom was born. She grew up and married Craven P. Fairchild on the 10th of December 1884.

The Broom’s second daughter Louisa Broom, died the day she was born on September 11, 1866.

Catherine Octavia Broom was born in Jan of 1869 and died at the age of three.

Their next child was a son, Willy.

John William "Willy" Brooome
John William “Willy” Broome

John William “Willy” Broom was born in December of 1870.  Sadly at the age of 7, he was killed when he was hit by a wagon.

The Broom’s third son Andrew Jackson Broom, born May 3, 1872, was named after Alestris’ brother Andrew Jackson Morgan (who was killed in the Battle of Seven Pines at the age of 16).  He moved to Llano, Texas where he was a border patrol agent.

Andrew Jackson Broom
Andrew Jackson Broom
Andrew Jackson Broome
Andrew Jackson Broom
Andrew Jackson Broome's family
Andrew Jackson Broom and his wife Lily Mayo Broom and their children

Annie Theodosia Broom was born January 27, 1876.  She married Andrew J. Harvey on the 4th of July 1899.

Annie Theodosia Broom
Annie Theodosia Broom

Luther Dudley “Dutchy” Broom was their eighth child and fourth son who was born on June 16, 1877.  He was my great grandfather.

Luther Dudley Broom
Luther Dudley Broom
Luther Dudley Broom
Luther Dudley Broome
sukey__young_
Anna Daisy Jacob Broome

He married Anna Daisy Jacob from Reserve on the German Coast in south Louisiana.  They were married in Baton Rouge on 28 Dec 1904.  He was Baptist and she was Catholic, so they were married by a Methodist minister.  He worked for Standard Oil Company (now Exxon) in Baton Rouge.

Clarence Franklin Broom
Clarence Franklin Broom
Clarence Franklin Broome
Clarence Franklin Broome
Albia Jones Broome
Albia Jones Broome

Clarence Franklin Broom was born April 25, 1879.  He married Albia Jones December 23, 1903.

Mary Jane Broome
Mary Jane Broom

Aletris Broom had their last child when she was 42 years old.  She had a girl born September 13, 1881 whom they named Mary Jane Broom. Something happened to Mary Jane causing her to pass away at the age of 7.  All that is written in the family Bible is the date she died and the time of day: “quarter to four P.M. Sunday eve”.

The old Broom family album contains many more interesting photos of members of Aletris’ family and John Thomas’ families.  But those photos will appear in a future post.

John Thomas and Aletris lived a rich life full of joy, hardship, happiness, and sadness.  Most of the handwriting in the family Bible appears to be hers.  But on the day she died, at age 58, in a shaky handwriting typical of old age, John inscribes her death information in the old Bible: “Aletris E. Broome the wife of J. T. Broome.  Died on the 19 of April 1905 about 8 in the eaving was born 11 of March 1847”.  All other dates after her death were written by him until he died.

john_thomas_broome Aletris Ellen Morgan Broome

John Thomas Broome Aletris Morgan Broome025

John Thomas and Aletris with a grandchild
John Thomas and Aletris with grandchild Sammy Harvey
John Thomas Broome with Luther Dudley's children (L to R) Marcia (my grandmother), John Denis, and Katie (taken about 1913)
John Thomas Broome with Luther Dudley Broome’s children (L to R) Marcia (my grandmother), John Denis, and Katie (taken about 1913)

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Jack says:

    As a member of the Broome Family I’d love to find out more. I can only trace back my family line to around the 1900’s. My great grand father ran away from home and never spoke about his family. We believe he came from Mississippi or Louisiana.

    1. Jack, I hope you find a connection! My great, great grandparents John Thomas and Aletris Broome’s first child, Thomas Sanders Broome, who was born on August 30, 1861, was disowned by his family for becoming a Mormon. He went away and I don’t know if they ever heard from him again. Could this be your great grand father? There is also another Broome family from the same area of MS so you may be connected to them.
      Good luck!

      1. Jack says:

        Sure could be. I did a genealogy search and suspect the same thing. Unfortunately we may never know. I was hoping the DNA testing I did would connect me with other Broomes from the lost tribe. Hopefully DNA testing catches on.

  2. Susan Norris Patton says:

    My Grandfather is Hugh Thomas Broome 1st Marriage to Mary Kennedy and they had 7 children she passed during child birth in 1931.
    His second wife was Ethel Elizabeth Crawford (Broome) (Ellis) (my grandmother) and they had three children Catherine Bettye Jean Broome (Norris) (which was changed later to just Bettye Jean Broome, Thomas S. (Stanford I think) Broome, Virgina (Jenny) Mae Broome (White). They lived in Sharon, Mississippi near Canton, Mississippi. My grandfather was raised Baptist, but became Mormon when he was 17. I only know brother as Uncle Willy and he was missing one arm and leg from a saw mill he and my grandfather operated by and anger employee who attacked my Uncle Willy and threw him on the saw trying to kill him. Wish I had listened more to my mom (Bettye) she doesn’t remember much these days.
    I have seen several of these pictures during my childhood and my brother John Thomas Norris (2/21/1961 – 10/4/2004) was named after a relative. He favors John Thomas Broome to me alot. Hope this helps you some.
    Susan

    1. Dottie Bonner says:

      Hi Susan we called your Grandfather uncle H T I am sure he had a son named H T Broome also. My Grandfather was named John William (Willy)Broome. Canton, ms. He made man of the year in the paper there 1969 . I live in laurel ,ms
      601 651 6672 call me.

  3. Dottie Bonner says:

    Jack, Thomas Sanders Broome was my Grandfathers Father.my grandfather name was John William Broome . raised in Brookhaven , lived in Canton ,Ms. he was Morman. Had Five Girls and two boys.my Grandfather lost a leg and arm in a sawmill accident.we were raised around Canton, Ms. my Grandfather was also Morman. He married Lena Kate Kennedy. Grandmother died March 1959. Grandfather died in the summer of 1969. We are cousins . I would like to Know the rest of the story. Dottie Broome Bonner.

  4. Tony Osborn says:

    I understand my great great grandfather was Eli Broome from Utica, MS. He lived there in the late 1800’s. His daughter was Mimi who married a Currie and raised a family in Utica. Their daughter, Emmette Currie (Powers) was my grandmother. Her father killed a best friend of his in Utica around 1906 (alcohol fueled fight) and fled to CA, but came back to face trial in Utica. He was acquitted after the attorney told my 4 or 5 year old grandmother to go sit in her fathers lap when he was on the stand to make the jury feel sympathy for him. I guess it worked.

  5. Stephen R Bush says:

    So I was put up for adoption early 60s .father was houston broome grandfather cullen great grandfather dock jefferson married to tamar lott if any one knows anyone in this tree please email me at warpig829@yahoo.com its never really bother me grand kids are asking. Supposedly a connection to a orchard turned into cemetery around meridian. Thanks

  6. Katie says:

    I just recently moved to Utica, MS and found a very old cemetery filled with Broome family. Dates are 1800’s. I’m wondering if these are any relation to your family? Did any of this family live on Carpenter St. Utica, MS? My property abutts this land.

    1. LadyGuice says:

      They may be but I have been told that there is another Broome family in the area. I’m sure they are probably related further back, but I can’t get past William Broome. Most of my family is buried in the Hazlehurst Baptist Church cemetery. I think my great great grandfather John Thomas Broome lived in Utica for a while with one of his children, but he is buried in Hazelhurst.I have also heard that there is another John Thomas Broome with the other family. Causes a lot of confusion. I’ll have to see if there is a listing of the graves in the cemetery you’re speaking of.

Leave a comment