A Picture is Worth More Than a Thousand Words (Pt. 2)

I am blowing the dust off of these old images of the Broome family and allied family members to reveal the identities and likenesses of those individuals who may never have been seen by their descendants.  I hope that by posting these images and names that some of their descendents will have the joy of discovering more about their ancestors. (The John Thomas Broome family images are seen in the previous post.)

It is also fascinating to see how people lived and what was important to them, so these images are interesting in their own right to be viewed by everyone.  I hope you enjoy them!

Mr. and Mr. Walter Hurt
Mr. and Mr. Walter Hurt (taken in Memphis, TN)

Walter Hurt was appointed the Postmaster in Winona, Mississippi in 1893 and was the City Editor of the Meridian Dispatch in Meridian, Mississippi according to the 1913 Meridian City Directory.

Mrs. Addie Harvey Hurt - wife of Walter Hurt
Mrs. Addie Harvey Hurt – wife of Walter Hurt
Harvey Hurt - son of Addie and Walter Hurt
Harvey Hurt – son of Addie and Walter Hurt
Harvey and Eldridge Hurt - children of Addie and Walter Hurt
W. Harvey and Eldridge Hurt – children of Addie and Walter Hurt

W. Harvey Hurt would grow up to run a newspaper in Waynesboro, Mississippi (like father, like son).  He was also instrumental in bringing a hospital to the Waynesboro area.

Samuel Harvey - possible brother of Addie Harvey Hurt
Sam Harvey – brother of Addie Harvey Hurt (also pictured with his grandparents John and Aletris Broome in the previous post)
Mercy Broome Harvey
Mercy Broome Harvey
Mercy Broome Harvey
Mercy Broome Harvey

Mercy Broome Harvey was the mother of Addie Harvey and Sam Harvey.  She was the sister of John Thomas Broome (from the previous post).

A party at the mouth of Mammoth Cave in Kentucky
A party at the mouth of Mammoth Cave in Kentucky – 1882
Catherine B. Morgan - sister of Aletris (from the previous post)
Catherine B. Morgan – sister of Aletris (from the previous post)
Kate B. Morgan Clary Walsh
Kate B. Morgan Clary Walsh
Kate B. Morgan Clary
Kate B. Morgan Clary
A tribute to a lost loved one.  I with I knew who he was...
A tribute to a lost loved one. I wish I knew who he was. The letters on the back look like MB.  It could possibly be a tribute to Willie who died when he was seven.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen Hurt Tiegreen says:

    Idly entering ” W. Harvey Hurt, Sr.” into my browser just now, I am surprised and delighted to see this photo of my great grandparents on their wedding day! While we have some pictures of them, I have never seen one of them on this special day. I do, however, have the engraved pitcher that Addie’s brother, Wirt Harvey, gave them as a wedding gift, and this photo makes it even more cherished. Thank you for sharing these wonderful images of my ancestors!

    I could tell you great family lore of them, for we were a close newspaper family of writers (and musicians, like Addie) and our ancestry is precious to us. I am now the oldest living grandchild of Harvey, Sr. and Rose Green Hurt, and I cut the ribbons to that first Waynesboro hospital when I was twelve. A portrait of Granddad hangs in the lobby of the later hospital that replaced it.

    1. I’m so glad you found the photos! That is precisely why I posted them! I would love to hear stories about them and the newspaper. I’ll send you my email. Thanks for writing!

Leave a comment